Power Commander Question

Discussion in '5th Generation 1998-2001' started by motd, Dec 23, 2020.

  1. motd

    motd New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hello all,
    Question about the power commanders. Scouring ebay I will often find a power commander v or whatever version that looks idential to the next, going for vastly different prices. Some have different connecting wires, some the only thing different is one claims to be for bike x and one for bike y with a different model number. Can I get a PC with the same connector plugs, and do some software/firmware workaround to get it running with the VFR800 or do I absolutely need to only run 1 specific model number? I have never used any of this stuff and am completely new to this. Id love to be able to shave off $100-150 if possible.

    Thank you for your patience with the n00b

    ALSO, is there anything else akin to a PC that is out there and worthwhile?
     
  2. VFRIRL

    VFRIRL New Member

    Country:
    Ireland
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ireland
    Map
    Do you need a power commander at all?
     
  3. motd

    motd New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Do you really need a motorcycle? What have I done to provoke you to be insulting?
     
    dhinson66 likes this.
  4. iLikeThat

    iLikeThat New Member

    Country:
    Norway
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Short answer no. They are model specific both firmware and hardware. The connectors are different and they work by intercepting and changing signals for the fuel injectors which is different for most motorcycles in some way.

    Without at least an auto-tune module or dyno for checking you air fuel mixture a power commander is a waste of money.
     
  5. raYzerman

    raYzerman Insider

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
    I do not understand why one would need a PC on a 5th Gen. Is it just trendy to do so or does it actually solve some perceived fueling problem?
    Once I got the proper starter valve sync done, I'm not really seeing any issues that need correcting.
     
    VFRIRL likes this.
  6. motd

    motd New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I did right in my post say that I was a noob to all of this stuff. I am trying to make the most out of my bike. I have not a single friend who uses it, I have never heard of it before my VFR, I have never known anyone to use one, I go to no bike nights or have bike friends or whatever the fuck it means to be a trendy biker, I am not following trends I am following what seemed to be a good idea to make the most of my engine. I fully understand it would need more than just the PC to make it useful. I am not into being trendy or wasting my money I am asking questions as someone who is new to this. Real bad taste in my mouth this thread just left me as a new user, which sucks. But if it be useless then that is good to know, thank you.
     
    96_Sokudo likes this.
  7. RllwJoe

    RllwJoe Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    266
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Western Lower Peninsula, Michigan
    Map
    We are going to assume that because you have posted this in the '98-'01/ 5th gen forum that your VFR 800 does not have V-tech, meaning that the engine does not disable half of the valves below ~6000 rpms.

    If you have a 6th gen, which does have the above tech, you may want a pc in order to help smooth out the transition in power output when the additional valves open up. This is why many of the 6th gen owners are interested in a pc.
    Other reasons would include the fact that you have a "flat spot" in the rpm range that needs better fuel/ air mixture, or your fuel milage is way out of wack even though mechanicaly everything else is in spec.

    If, however, you do have a 5th gen the question of " do you need one" is valid.
    My '98 runs very strong without a pc.
     
    VFRIRL likes this.
  8. Cyberob

    Cyberob New Member

    Country:
    Netherlands
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Nuff said...[​IMG]
     
    dhinson66 likes this.
  9. dhinson66

    dhinson66 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Nashville, Tennessee USA
    Map
    Boom

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
     
  10. philois1984

    philois1984 New Member

    Country:
    Australia
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Map
    Hi Motd, not sure Vfrirl was trying to be insulting mate, maybe Rwlljoe put it better asking if you have a specific problem that you want a power commander to solve? That said the Dyno chart posted by Cyberob is one of the most impressive horsepower gains I have seen from a power commander. I have an eigth gen with no mods so can’t help you with this.
     
  11. raYzerman

    raYzerman Insider

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
    I suspect more tuning than a PC was done to get 18 horsepower.
     
  12. NorcalBoy

    NorcalBoy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    691
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Desert Southwest
    Map
    That's a nice way to put it.
     
  13. VFRIRL

    VFRIRL New Member

    Country:
    Ireland
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ireland
    Map
    If you think that's an insult you've led a very sheltered life:)
     
  14. dhinson66

    dhinson66 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Nashville, Tennessee USA
    Map
    I think a couple questions will help us advise you. Do you have an aftermarket high flow air filter? A set of aftermarket headers? An aftermarket pipe? Then if yes to all 3, then maybe. Problem is, the usual PC we use is the older PC 2 or PC 3 USB, neither of which are available now. Also no Dyno shops even have the software to tune using the PC 2 for sure and maybe even the 3 but not sure about that. There have been many who have had their fueling optimised with a tune and some have gotten better throttle response, some (most) have gotten increased HP and torque, but typically only after the 3 above mentioned mods. Others can tell you more but AFAIK the PC 5 will work on the 5th gen but not sure how well it works, as I believe it uses 02 sensors to optimize fueling and the early 5th gens don't have them. Hope this helps.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
     
  15. tirso

    tirso New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    PC5 works on all 5th gens. Some '98 and '99's may need a PC5 firmware update while all '00 and '01's will need the update.

    Earlier this year, I installed a PC5 on my '99 with K&N filter, Two Brothers replica headers (WiLD on VFRD) and Staintune.

    Unfortunately the bike did not run well. I called Dynojet the makers of PC5 and we installed the new firmware. With the new PC5 firmware and map made by Attack Performance, the bike was transformed.

    Instructions for firmware update are here:
    https://www.vfrdiscussion.com/index...-2000-2001-vfrs/&tab=comments#comment-1104439
     
    pi-on and dhinson66 like this.
  16. dhinson66

    dhinson66 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Nashville, Tennessee USA
    Map
    That is great news. I wondered if anyone had tried the PC5 with the Attack map. I have the same headers, K & N air filter and a Vance & Hines pipe. I'm using an old PC2 and it runs ok but now I'm gonna have to splurge on the PC5. Thanks!

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
     
  17. jukka.urhonen

    jukka.urhonen New Member

    Country:
    Finland
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi, where can I get that PC5 attack perfomance map?

    Lähetetty minun SM-A750FN laitteesta Tapatalkilla
     
  18. dhinson66

    dhinson66 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Nashville, Tennessee USA
    Map
    Message sfdownhill. He'll send it to you after you pay him.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
     
  19. jukka.urhonen

    jukka.urhonen New Member

    Country:
    Finland
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi, I have black widow full system(350 mm can), pipercross airfilter, flappervalve and pairblock done. 99 europe model that has originally cat and o2:s.
    And pc5 with new firmware.
    Do you know, Is there any map in dynojet site what is suitable with this setup? I have loaded map:"erion full exhaust, stock or aftermarket airfilter", that doesn't work.

    Lähetetty minun SM-A750FN laitteesta Tapatalkilla
     
  20. dhinson66

    dhinson66 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Nashville, Tennessee USA
    Map
    I believe you have to go through a somewhat complicated process to use the map that was developed for the headers by Attack Performance. The procedure is in the thread somewhere. It has to be converted so the PC5 can use it.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
     
Related Topics

Share This Page