overfilling engine oil

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by jrj, Nov 23, 2006.

  1. jrj

    jrj New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    I did my first oil change on my '06 at 700km, it now has 1300km. I guess I didn't wait long enough for the oil to settle and only later once on the center stand again realized that it is overfilled. It is reading a little less than half way between the "fill line" and the top of the view window. Should I be concerned about this and if so any recomendations on what to do besides not to do it again. Thanks.
     
  2. reg71

    reg71 Poser Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,641
    Likes Received:
    212
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atascadero, California, United States
    Map
    I may be misunderstanding but is it between the two lines when running? If so, you should be good to go. At least that is the way it is on my 5th gen.
     
  3. JamieDaugherty

    JamieDaugherty New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,386
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Map
    It should be even with the upper line in the window when NOT running. Did I miss something? If yours is too full I'd drain some out. Just pull the drain plug for a second and put it back in to check. Repeat until the level is correct.

    To answer your question - yes you should be concern and you should correct it.
     
  4. Spike

    Spike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did this once a long time ago on my K12. I can't tell what is absolutedly right to do and why, just what I did. I took out the extra oil. I used a turkey baster, and a piece of tubing I use for bleeding my brakes to get the excess out. Just seemed easier than taking the plug out, and then trying to put it back in while the oil was coming out. I have heard that depending on the engine disign, and how over filled you went, it can be bad for the engine. Maybe not catastrophic, but not good either.

    and yes, that Turkey baster was left in the garage and never used in the kitchen again ;-) I also use it to empty the fluid reservoir when bleeding the brakes and clutch, so I don't have to pump as much old stuff thru the system
     
  5. RVFR

    RVFR Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    7,991
    Likes Received:
    242
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Olympia Wa.
    Map
    So mm you've gone what 600kms with it this way? for the most part it's a good idea to follow the recomended amout thats suppoes to go in via service manual specs, funny thou I can only get 3.4 Qts in mine when on the full mark, manual say with a filter I need 4 Qts ?? Hmm so I put in what it needs via dip stick or in your case window, but I wouldn't worry much as if you were to see, I'm willing to bet that you're only like a .1 tenth of a quart to full. Yes mark is for when sitting cold, not running, if you did it while running you cold put like 6 qts in there and thats not a good thing. too much oil would cause oil to be getting up in the grears and crank which in turn whipps it up to a point where you could get Hydraulic lock. but before that, it would be blowing out the breathers like crazy. since you didn't mention that, I'll asume this time nothing is hurt. I say time to change the oil again if it bugs ya, wouldn't even have to change the filter. whats ya think?
     
  6. jrj

    jrj New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Hey thanks for the help, I know I have gone nearly 600k since I did the oil change but some how I missed it, I only noticed it because I decided to take a look at the level after it had sat in the garage for a couple days. After I did the oil change I looked at the oil level in the window 30-40m later and it was good. I guess I underestimated how long it needed to settle for an accurate reading. How long should it settle?
     
  7. Vlad Impaler

    Vlad Impaler New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Map
    Hmmmmm. This is what happens to me too, but the manual says 3.3 qts for change and 4 qts. for REBUILD. I think the 4 qts. is assuming from a full dry system including pump.

    As for the overfill, I'd take some out. Breather tube is probably spewing some off near your left foot. And I'm totally in agreement that an overfull crankcase causes you to whip your oil into a froth. Your crank should dip itself in oil with rotations, not push it around like dogh inyour KitchenAid mixer.
     
  8. John451

    John451 Member

    Country:
    Australia
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,856
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Sydneys South, 8 minutes from the RNP
    If its between the Max Line and Top of window while reading with the VFR on Centre stand then think its only about 100 and a bit ml over and only the difference between reading on Spirit level perfect surface and whats looks a nearly level surface, don't think you need to worry about it engine damage wise, remove a little if it bugs you...
     
  9. jaimev34

    jaimev34 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oceanside, Ca
    Map
    I checked my oil yesterday morning without having warmed the engine and the viewing glass was full and past the top line by a lot. So, I drained a bit until it was between the two lines and let the engine run for a bit. I let the oil settle and checked again but the line didn't return to the point between the two lines (I gave it 30 minutes). I haven't checked it today to see if it has returned. My question is, did I make a mistake by not letting the engine warm before checking the oil level initially(before I drained it)?

    Now I'm thinking I need to add some oil. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  10. JamieDaugherty

    JamieDaugherty New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,386
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Map
    I always check mine cold. I know it's been stated already but worth asking - are you checking with the bike straight up and down and not on the side stand?
     
  11. jaimev34

    jaimev34 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oceanside, Ca
    Map
    Straight up, on the center stand.
     
  12. derstuka

    derstuka Lord of the Wankers Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6,709
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Map
    Do not warm your engine up just to check your oil. The most accurate oil checks are when your engine is cold, and/or has been sitting for at least 30 minutes to an hour.

    The exception is.....if you just changed your oil and refilled the bike......then you start the bike up, let it run for a couple minutes to circulate the oil thru the filter, then let the bike sit for at least 10-20 minutes before checking the oil again to get an idea of where it is at. I usually refill with oil, run the engine, then fill towards the low side of the middle (between high and low marks), ride the bike once, then check it again after it has been sitting for at least 30+ minutes to an hour to see if I need to add any.

    If you check your oil level right after the engine was just running it will not be accurate, as the oil is still draining off of the engines internals.
     
  13. derstuka

    derstuka Lord of the Wankers Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6,709
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Map
  14. sunofwolf

    sunofwolf New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,383
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    ya a bit tricky, I put three qts in + a tinny bit more-I need a bit more-
     
Related Topics

Share This Page