Only clicking sound when trying to start the bike

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by isharabash, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. tinkerinWstuff

    tinkerinWstuff Administrator Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7,680
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Colorado Front Range
    Map
    You can take crimp on style spade connectors, pull back the plastic shield, solder each individual wire to an individual spade connector. Then apply heat shrink tube around the whole spade connector and plug in each individual wire to the RR. The yellow wires can go in any location. Make sure the red and black (or green) go back in the same spot on the RR as they are currently. If the RR is still good, you're fixed for pennies plus beer for your solder capable buddy.
     
  2. isharabash

    isharabash New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palo Alto, California, United States
    Heh, thought you meant solder to the pins..., this I can do, I'm excited to get my bike back... :)

     
  3. isharabash

    isharabash New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palo Alto, California, United States
    So r/r doesn't have any resistance between pins where it should... verified it was shorted with continuity tester... time for a new one
     
  4. tinkerinWstuff

    tinkerinWstuff Administrator Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7,680
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Colorado Front Range
    Map
  5. isharabash

    isharabash New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palo Alto, California, United States
    I made the wiring harness out of spade connectors... had to spreada few of them for the wider ones, but w/e.

    I forgot to get a longer bolt, it looks like one bolt is permanently attached to my bike, before it had a nut on it to hold the r/r there, is this normal?

    I looked on the other side and it didn't look like a stuck bolt or anything, I did see a couple of other holes I could probably use with a bolt/nut though...
     
  6. isharabash

    isharabash New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palo Alto, California, United States
    Other holes aren't far enough apart... any ideas on how to secure this to the bike? Problem is that instead of a bolt on one side, I have a stud and it isn't long enough, looks like it's part of the frame...
     
  7. kd4ysi

    kd4ysi New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Columbia, South Carolina, United States
    Map
    when my 97 done that i just replaced the rr and then the new one went bad after a couple of months u need to follow the concetor from the rr it plugs into anthoer con on the right side right beside the frame rail if its burnt in there also plan on replaceing ure stator and rr then ull be back up and running but hopefully just ure rr
     
  8. tinkerinWstuff

    tinkerinWstuff Administrator Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7,680
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Colorado Front Range
    Map
    grind the stud down, touch up the paint, drill a hole for a new bolt.


    Burned connectors does not mean that the components have failed. Definitely a good idea to inspect that connecter but any signs of burning does not mean the stator is bad.
     
  9. isharabash

    isharabash New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palo Alto, California, United States
    It works :biggrin: thanks again tinkerinWstuff!

    Think I'm going to re-insulate the connections I soldered though, turns out I don't solder too bad haha, but going to put heat shrink on it instead of electrical tape...


    The only thing I'm concerned about after that is the spade connectors not staying put...

    I'll figure something out though
     
Related Topics

Share This Page