My VFR750-N 1992 & Speedo conversion issue

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by Towpillah, Mar 24, 2019.

  1. Towpillah

    Towpillah New Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi everyone!

    This is my first post so I thought I'd also show my dear VFR, which is almost as stock as they come. Apart from the usual TLC one should give their bike, mine has just received a new MRA windscreen and I had my seat done - so the bike would be a bit more comfy and modern.


    First some pics I just took (problem description below):

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    Now to the actual issue that is causing me some grief; which is having the bike registered in UK. The bike is a German import that I've driven in Finland (currently registered in Finland), and I had it shipped to UK where I live now and with Brexit and everything going on - I really need to have it registered and insured locally very soon.

    I bought a used pair of UK headlights from Ebay that I swapped with my DE ones, so in regards to those I think I'm just fine for the MOT regarding the light patterns - but I still need to solve how to get the speedo showing MPH.

    The way I see it I have plenty of options:
    1) Change the speedo dial to one that shows both MPH/KMH
    2) Buy a new speedo that shows both MPH/KMH
    3) Buy a used speedo / the whole unit with all dials (none at the moment on Ebay that I can see)
    4) Buy one of those cable-conversion gadgets and whack an MPH sticker on the speedo... But that would look weird and then screw up the mileage which wouldn't be preferred

    I think I could do a speedo dial myself, but I'm not 100% sure if it's that easy to swap with the old one so... Would anyone have experience in this? It'd be sort of a good solution so I would keep the original mileage on the clock. (E.g. is the speedo needle easy to remove and put back on this particular model?)

    And as for using buying one with MPH on it there's one new on Ebay for about 100GBP... but would it work out of the box or is the cable spinning at different speed on KMH models than it is on MPH models? And would one of those aforementioned gadgets work that you put at the back of the speedo?

    Any ideas, experiences or thoughts on what would probably be the easiest and best option to have the speedo showing MPH and other things related for UK registration/MOT would be greatly appreciated! Cheers!


    [​IMG]
     
  2. weevee

    weevee New Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hi Towpillah, welcome to the forum. Nice looking VFR. That seat looks a lot more comfy than the stock seat on my 800!

    How about this speedometer overlay? (see pic). It's a semi-flexible resin-domed 3D decal, and it's simply 'peel-and-stick'. It covers the KPH markings. No converter would be necessary. I have something similar on my imported RC30, and it's never failed an MOT! Just PM me for more info.

    Steve

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2019
  3. Towpillah

    Towpillah New Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just to update I'll give the overlay suggestion a go as it's a very cheap and easy method, and post how it works out with the MOT in the end. (Thanks again Steve)

    Here's how it looks on the bike:
    [​IMG]
     
  4. weevee

    weevee New Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hi Toni. Just for your information, and to explain why it's white/red: I tried one of these in black/white originally, and whilst it was a better match for the instrument surround, the white numbering caused some confusion when it was viewed against the original white numbers beneath it. However, if at some time in the future you'd like to try one in a different colour-scheme, just PM me or get in touch via my website. Good luck with the MOT!

    Steve
     
  5. ridervfr

    ridervfr Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,578
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    South FL
    Map
    bike looks great! I have two MRA windscreens on my Gen3 bikes too. I don't have the flip up screen though, and I also chose not to install the rubber molding they supply with the screen.

    You could easily just buy a used set of clocks and call it a day, thats just me though. I Have a spare set I bought because they have the digital clock which I wanted. Sorry, not for sale.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Towpillah

    Towpillah New Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Heya again! (& thanks @ ridervfr!)

    I've been a bit too lazy with this topic but... Just to update and confirm the bike went through the MOT without any advisories or comments whatsoever. So essentially a matter of swapping my DE headlights to EN ones (and doing a small rewire to get both headlights working), plus using that overlay sticker to get my DE bike MOT'd in UK. So essentially a cost of £30-40 or so to make the changes.

    So now... Just need to actually send the documents to DVLA and have it imported (before Brexit) so I can get rid of my Finnish plates! :)
     
    skimad4x4 likes this.
Related Topics

Share This Page