Get your knee down on a VFR?

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by Yakima9, Jul 29, 2008.

1. Yakima9

Yakima9 New Member

United States
    I just got a '96 VFR. I have been riding a '90 Honda NT650 for the past 2 years. I'm working on getting my knee down on the Hawk and wondering if it is possible on the VFR? I've been riding the VFR more and starting to get more comfortable off the bike. I'm running a newer pair of Michelin Roads on the Hawk and I'm pretty sure the VFR has the stock Dunlop Sportmax's on it. I'm going to get a pair of Road CT2's for the VFR this winter. Just wondering your thoughts...Anyone with other gen's welcome to comment!

2. SLOVFR

SLOVFR Member

United States
    Map
    Ask Reg71 and Tori to see their knee sliders ....

3. Bubba Zanetti

Bubba Zanetti Member

United States
    Map
    Yes, you can get your knee down on a 4th gen.

BZ

4. tonydig11

tonydig11 New Member

I have a 6th gen. When I went to deals gap this spring I was for sure I would get my first knee down. It did not happen. I draged the exhaust headers, rear break pedal, and my peg feelers are all the way ground down but no knee down. I was hung off all the way I could and my buddys say its just hovering over the ground. Im pretty sure its because my legs are so short. not sure.

5. derstuka

derstuka Lord of the Wankers Staff Member

Map
  6. betarace

betarace New Member

beg to differ.

it is very possible, and I have done so on may occasions, went thru my pics and while this isnt "conclusive poof" due to the photographer's timing, you can see it's very possible. It is a little hairy and I would recommend doing it only on the track.

parts do drag, crank up preload to the max and ignore the peg feelers grinding

[​IMG]

7. t120rmike

t120rmike New Member

If you're dragging a knee on the street, you're riding beyond your ability to do so safely. What about dirt, cows, birds, fuel ect... Not safe. Go to a track.