General Power Commander III info for all VFR800s

Discussion in '5th Generation 1998-2001' started by dehning, Feb 7, 2010.

  1. ToyWG

    ToyWG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    20 min south of the N.C MTNs
    Map
    Hey Dehning I just took a long look at my power comanderIII. It must be an older mod. It has no buttons for low,med hi. It has none at all. It does have a mini USB port. But I have yet to remove it and hook to my computer. The bike runs well and Im not sure I want to tamper with that just yet
     
  2. dehning

    dehning New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeway (Austin), TX
    Map
    I'm fairly sure only the III, IIIr and V have USB ports, so you should be OK. You can always turn the feature off again if you don't like it, but to each his own.
     
  3. RoadStar 2007

    RoadStar 2007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone know the bolt size and pitch need to plug up the o2 ports on 2000 model? 12mm x 1.25 or 18mm x 1.50? Drag Specialties lists both sized on their website. What do most users do when using the eliminators? Plug the holes and remove the sensors or just zip tie them out of the way? Will any damage come to them if you just leave them in un-connected?
     
  4. ricko2

    ricko2 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Grass Valley CA
    I've been thinking I need one of these. I'll be watching this thread to see what people say.
     
  5. ToyWG

    ToyWG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    20 min south of the N.C MTNs
    Map
    It turns out mine is a california model, so I guess thats why it has no buttons on the case. I looked and I did not see a map for the cali mod with a K&N filter and a micron pipe. for the other units yes. Is this problem? or will a non cali map work on mine?
     
  6. Yonan

    Yonan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TURLOCK, CA
    Non Ca map works great on mine. I dont have the CA PCIII though.

    You can get 02 plugs at any decent parts store, just take your o2 sensor in with you to match up.
    If you leave them in they will get sooted up and ruined, not a problem unless you ever want to put them back in.

    I run the map it came with, tried others and lost too much mpg. Runs great with map supplied by PC.
     
  7. hollenbeck

    hollenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    easley,sc
    ok so I just bought a pc3usb and the seller said it worked with older models, I hope so but it looks like it doesn't plug into the ecm. I'm gonna load up some pic's and I have an 01 vfr800 fi so do I need to take out my o2 sensor? idk if I even have 1 lol, but I payed 190 for it, so not bad.Also is the pc3usb really worth that kind of $?

    where do these connectors go? pc3 usb.jpg pc3 usb 2.jpg
     
  8. tinkerinWstuff

    tinkerinWstuff Administrator Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7,672
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Colorado Front Range
    Map
    The throttle body connections on the front left side frame rail.
     
  9. hollenbeck

    hollenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    easley,sc
    thanks tinkerinwstuff do I need to take out o2 sensor? I'm getting a modified fuel pressure regulator too, then onto dyno and see what she does, do you know a thread or internet site that has a lot of different good mod's for the 5th gen, cause I don't have your brain so I have to use a computer lol, and what mod's did you do to your front forks? Is there a better diy mod that I could do then have Jamie do a setup on em
     
  10. Corkey

    Corkey New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I am trying to download Power Commander 3 USB maps from the www.powercommander.com website here for my 5th Gen running a Micron Slip on an K&N air filter (maps 101-003 & 101-004). The problem I am having is that the files that I end up with won't unzip, install, import or anything else. The seem to be corrupt or something. From within the Power Commander Control Center software I have tried "open" and "import" map and neither of them work.



    Anybody know what is causing this and/or have the full set of maps for a 1998 VFR?



    Thanks in advance.
     
  11. Knight

    Knight New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    USA
    Map

    Message me your e-mail address. I have these and some more. I recall I may have selected everything on their site for every version of the VFR and finally got files that worked. Make sure you give me an e-mail address that will not spam filter a zip file.
     
  12. Pain Train

    Pain Train New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Murray, Kentucky, United States
    I'm running into the same problem. I'd be very interested in those maps, as well.
     
  13. Knight

    Knight New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    USA
    Map
    Send a private message to me please. I need an e-mail address.
     
  14. Corkey

    Corkey New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I emailed Power Commander (Dynojet) regarding this issue. Here is their response..

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    "The ONLY available PC3usb map files for American bikes are the files M101-300, M101-301, M101-302, and M101-303. All of the other files listed are either for PC2 (which is completely incompatible with PC3) or European bikes (which shouldn’t be accurate for American applications).

    Our predeveloped map #M101-302 is the closest to your setup that we currently have available in our map database library. The air flow characteristics between the two setups should be similar enough for the map to work for you as a starting point. Let us know if this map gives you any obvious fueling problems, and what/when those problems occur and we might be able to help you to make further adjustment. An ideal option is to have the bike dyno tuned and custom mapped specifically for your bike's setup and or your personal riding style and fueling preference at one of our approved tuning centers in your local area if you want to get it 100% optimized."


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I ended up running the M101-302 map and it is working great.
     
  15. RVFR

    RVFR Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    7,985
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Olympia Wa.
    Map
    And there it is, even Dyno jet suggests get your bike on a dyno, which was what I was going to throw out. ;)
     
  16. NewbieVFR

    NewbieVFR New Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Map
     
  17. NewbieVFR

    NewbieVFR New Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Map
    Hey all, first post. Long story short, I moved a PC3 from 2000 VFR to another 2000 VFR. Bike with PC3 removes runs fine, no surprise. Bike with PC3 now installed didn’t start immediately but then ran, earned up and all looked fine until I saw FI light on. Turned off the bike and restarted. If was even harder to start and then FI light came in immediately and would not idle. Just stalled.

    So a few questions before I start the remap.
    1. I saw that the original VFR had the O2 sensor wires cut. Is this the work around, or remove sensor and tie wrap out of way with a plug installed or other ideas?
    2. Should the PC3 have held its program? The green light ramps up and down with throttle now. (Was fixed at 1 location on first bike)
    3. I saw the question asked, but no answer. Does PC3 improve fuel economy?
    4. I am running stock air filter with 2bro can. Mapping suggestions?
    5. Pump advance? Hope I got that correct. Yea or nah?
     
  18. zombie

    zombie New Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guelph Ontario
    Welcome NewbieVFR, where in Canada are you located?
    I have the PC3 on my 2002, came with the bike. I have never done anything with it. It lights up and I haven't checked anything on it. I think I will have to actually see how it is set, it's really choppy at lower RPM.
     
  19. NewbieVFR

    NewbieVFR New Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Map
     
Related Topics

Share This Page