First Cross Country Trip!

Discussion in 'Trips & Events' started by meadeballl, Jul 7, 2017.

1. meadeballl

meadeballl New Member

United States
    Map
    Hi y'all,

I haven't introduced myself, but I'll do it here. I've been riding for about 4 years, but been working on all of my cars and motorcycles myself for much longer. My bike history goes (not in order) from a Ninja 500r, Grom, S1000r, VFR800 (8th gen), GSX-R600, and now the bike I've wanted since I started riding: a 5th gen. I bought one about 5 months ago, put a couple thousand miles on it, but was involved in my first wreck when someone turned into me. Luckily I wear all my gear, and it all got replaced along with the bike. I had a cross-country trip planned with a friend when this wreck happened about a week before.. I had been prepping the bike and getting ready for the trip, but I then had to go out and buy another and prep it in a short amount of time.

I'll save you guys the pictures of the work I did, but it was pretty much just doing everything you normally see on the forum, down to torque checking all major bolts and using dielectric grease on every connection.

[​IMG]

Now on to the trip! Started in Cincinnati, then went west across the most boring 2.5 days I've experienced to the Badlands.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Next, we went through the Black Hills for a few days and saw Mt. Rushmore. It was cool to see, but the roads were way more interesting.

[​IMG]

Big Horn National Forrest is definitely somewhere I'll visit again!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

A couple national grasslands later, we arrived in Yellowstone. We did all touristy things and did a few hikes.

[​IMG]

After Yellowstone, we headed north to a town Bozeman, where we had the chance to bath in some hot springs for the whole night, one of the great experiences from this trip! We then followed the roads to US 12 out of Missoula that has the famous "Curves next 99 miles" sign at the beginning, a great sight to see!

[​IMG]