Engine Rebuild

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by Rckslick333, Dec 22, 2020.

1. Rckslick333

Rckslick333 New Member

United States
    My 90 had a floating valve and I'm stuck in a hotel for the next few months away from my family for work so I said hey, might as well rebuild the motor.

Planning on replacing the keepers, springs and all other associated parts because I don't know the real reason why the keepers let go on that valve. I'm tossing up the idea of replacing all keepers at this point but haven't decided yet. I have a degree in automotive, not motorcycles but the concept is still the same, don't fix it if it ain't broke!

The ticking I heard and thought was an exhaust leak from the pair port cover up I did was actually a valve making contact with the piston. I'll post a photo in a little while of the worn carbon buildup on the piston from the repeated contact. I expected things would happen when I bought it with 75k miles on it. I'm going to be re-ringing it, honing cylinders, inspecting shift forks and probably replacing the main bearings depending on the tolerances and how many thousandths of an inch they are out.

I previously rebuilt a f2 motor but this will be my first v4.

My question is, to the people who have done rebuilds on this motor, what issues have you ran into and what should I expect and what parts would you consider mandatory other than the obvious rings, o-rings and gaskets/seals.

I can also post photos of the teardown and rebuild. With the exception of the heads being on because the motor wont fit in my trunk with them installed and I already removed them haha.

Thank you :)

2. squirrelman

squirrelman Member

United States
    Map
    can you get the OEM headgaskets ?

3. Rckslick333

Rckslick333 New Member

United States