7th Gen suspension parts and modifications

Discussion in '7th Generation 2010-Present' started by f3racer, Nov 17, 2014.

1. f3racer

f3racer New Member

Trail and Error

So......coming from a entirely sportbike past, racing a couple years in CCS, and then my most recent trip to the Dragon on my VFR1200 i have been seriously looking at suspension upgrades. Now I am a Soldier in the US Army with 3 teeneage daughters, 1 who is in college and a 10 year old. Money is not falling off trees for me so sending my suspension off to be worked on is out of range for my wallet. I am also quite the do it yourself kinda guy. I prefer to buy the parts and do the work myself. I called racetech and they told me to pack up my suspension and ship it to them to be spec'd out. Then they would tell me what parts and service would cost. NO THANKS!

Lets talk talk about stock stuff 1st.

Front forks are very long in comparison and the original thought was to do a fork swap from a sport bike, but that would severely screw up the handling of this bike.

I cant seem to find a solid answer on what the spring rates are for the front. Iv'e seen .75kg/mm and I've seen .90kg/mm. Either way this is crazy soft for a large close to 600lb sport touring bike. For example the stock spring rate on a 406lb 07 cbr600rr is 1.0 kg/mm.

Next I looked to see what other springs i may drop in. Ohlins, hyperpro, and a few others have drop in fork springs at 1.0 and 1.1. all are between $125 and $200. Stock 1.0 600rr springs are $25 a spring but the free length is way different. IIRC the stock vfr spring length is around 15in and the cbr is 9. thats a big difference and fabricating a spacer in there might not be strong enough for the load. In the mean time i dropped the front end (raised the forks in the triple) 1mm.