2013 Summer Bike Trip (Alaska to Colorado)

Discussion in 'General VFR Discussions' started by ySeven, Nov 3, 2012.

1. ySeven

ySeven New Member

Map
    Foreword:
    I own a 1992 Honda VFR; it has about 26,000 Miles on it. This is my first bike, and this last summer was the first time I have ever ridden a bike. It is in great condition, and has only minor scratches on it.
    I am looking to make a trip from Anchorage, Alaska to Colorado and then head from Colorado to California then up back through Canada. I will be making this trip with my Aunt (she will be driving her car); (she has also made this trip before in a car). I have never done a trip like this ever, much less on a motorcycle.
    I have never worked on a motorcycle before, but I have worked on my car (i.e. engine swap, and transmission swap.)
    This Thread will be the start of a long journey that will document my experiences and such.

Preparation:

Bike-
    As my bike is old, I am looking to do some work on my bike to ensure that it will last the entire trip. I have not changed the oil on my bike or have done anything on it since I got it at the beginning of the summer, as such; I need to do all of that jazz. If anyone could direct me in the right direction so I can change all my fluids and maybe my chain that would be great.

I also was wondering if there is any other overhaul stuff I should consider doing on the bike as I have all winter to do this work (I live in Alaska, there is too much snow to ride). If anyone could advise me that would be awesome too.

I also will need to get a new wind shield as I would like to have a more comfortable ride, if anyone knows where I can get one (websites) and suggestions that would be cool.

Since I will be driving through Alaska, I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions about fuel. (gas stations could be few and far between, is there a way to carry more fuel? In my aunts car?)