Yet another newbie here!!! 1985 VF700F?'s......

Discussion in '1st & 2nd Generation 1983-1989' started by SETI III, Mar 29, 2011.

1. SETI III

SETI III New Member

Hello all new to the forum! Just got my first bike ever, a 1985 Honda VF700F Interceptor. She runs and rides, but needs some TLC. My question is I found a complete parts bike with good plastics etc for $200. It's a 86 VF700F. Are the parts interchangeable like brake rotors, gauge cluster, etc? I'd like to know before I buy the parts bike. From reading this forum I understand that parts are sometimes hard to find for these bikes so it's always good to have a parts bike around. Also, where are you folks getting your tune-up parts from like plug wires and what not? I take my basic riders course this weekend to get my permit. Any guidance/advice would be appreciated...........

2. Pcohen

Pcohen New Member

Man they didn't make "F" models in '86 except in the 500. If it's an '86 700 it would be a VFR700 and some of the parts would interchange but not all of them. Someone with more knowledge on what would and what wouldn't will surely chime in.

I would buy it for $200 if the plastics are in good shape. The plastics would be worth more than that alone in good condition. You would get enough interchangeable spare parts also to make it justifiable.

3. SETI III

SETI III New Member

I'm sure they misprinted it and it's a VFR, and I could probably talk them down to $100.

4. rpierce

rpierce New Member

If it is indeed a 1986 then it's going to do you no good no matter how cheap it is. You can use pretty much any parts from the VF750F's and VF700F's of 83-85 for your bike. Anything after 1985 is the next gen and you'll be in trouble if you want parts to match.

5. SETI III

SETI III New Member