VFR800 vs CBR1000RR

Discussion in 'General VFR Discussions' started by rufussrgnt, Nov 17, 2009.

1. rufussrgnt

rufussrgnt New Member

Map
    Hi:

I'm trying to choose between a new '08 CBR1000RR and a '08 VFR800. Both are new left overs and are priced similarly. I've been riding since 1970 and the hottest bike I own is a '95 CB1000 (the monster). I want the CBR but think the VFR would fit my needs better. Why do you ride a VFR? Pro's and con's?

2. Jimtt

Jimtt New Member

Map
    Like you I was attracted by Hondas discounts and bought a CBR 1000RR; great bike, stable and quick turn in super brakes and ridiculous power but only when you twist the throttle open quickly and or hold it open. Also I have been riding a little before 1970 and own a VFR. If you are going to go on longer rides or sport tour a lot get the VFR if however you commute and ride for an hour most of the time buy the CBR. .

3. RVFR

RVFR Member

United States
    Map
    Awe a trick question. I too have been on both. and either one is great for the short hops just depends more of what you desire, Like Jimtt said longer rides are better on the VFR but???? that goes with out saying. I'm thinking long and hard to get back to a hyper bike at least for a little while, while I am still able. I'd say go ahead and jump on the 1000RR while they are being discounted big time. 800 vfrs will always be around and will be had at good pricing. Now if you where talking 4th gens, then that's a whole other story ;)

4. Lux

Lux New Member