Really torn about my 2003 VFR800

Discussion in 'General VFR Discussions' started by jhon, Sep 12, 2019.

1. jhon

jhon New Member

United States
    I am very torn about my VFR.
    First I want to say that I'm in absolute love with the bike.... the looks, the power the SOUND OMG THE SOUND... this bike fucked me up because I don't like how any other sport bike sounds anymore apart from the Aprilia RSV4... which is out of my budget.

I paid $2000 for this bike and some of you remember I posted that the bike let me on the side of the road with a burnt stator.
    I replaced the stator, Rectifier/regulator and battery. I was using the bike maybe once a week because I am a motorcycle instructor and I was using the for demos on the Advance Raider Course (ARC) that I teach on military bases. SO ... the bike didn't give me any "issues" after I replaced those components, however I lost confidence on riding the bike for a long distance. My commute was 1 hour long ....
    After Memorial Day I started a new job and I have not been riding the bike. I have the bike on the shed next to my wife's CTX700. I have been starting both now and then, and the always started with no problems, today the CTX fired right up, but I almost couldn't start the VFR. Got it running and went for a ride for like 20 mins, hopping that would charge the battery. Well NOP.... it didn't. I stopped for gas and I had to push her to start it.
    I want to sell this bike so another person can take car of her.. I don't ride it that much and I don't want to be chasing where the issue is.
    There is also a oil leak at the bottom of the bike.... with only 16K miles I think this bike had a rough life before I got her. I am not sure how hard it would be to replace the gasket that will make the oil leak stop. (IDEAS??)