New to VFR, Please help with Stalling issue!

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by GreGsVFR, May 7, 2009.

1. GreGsVFR

GreGsVFR New Member

Map
    I am sure this has been posted a million times in the past. I am new to the VFR world, I just purchased a '92 VFR750f last Friday. I bought the bike, and the next day it stalled out while I was on it and would only start again if I popped the clutch. I thought that maybe it was the battery since it was sitting for a little while (but it did start fine the day before and earlier that day). I bought a new battery and rode it for maybe a total of 45 minutes or so over 2 days. I was turning into my destination and it stalled out again, and seemed to have no battery juice. I called the shop where the bike had last been tuned up and had work done on it (the previous owner gave me their info) and they said to bring it down right away. After about 30 minutes or so it started right up again so I decided to head to the motorcycle shop immediately. About 1/2 a mile away or so the bike stalled out while I was at a stop sign. Some guy was nice enough to stop off and give me a jump and get me going again, and follow me to the shop (about 3 miles away.) The bike made it down the highway and as soon as I let off of the gas to get off of the exit I saw the tach go down to 0 and it wouldn't start (even if I popped the clutch.) The guy pulled off behind me and gave me a jump again and it started and I made it to the top of the road where the shop is and it stalled again and I rolled into it. They said they will check it. The previous owner said that he had them change the relay/rectifier before because it was doing a similar thing where it stalled out only once on him. That was when he brought it to the same shop to have them fix it. They changed the rectifier, gave it a tune up and told him it was fine. He got a new VFR over the winter and decided to sell the bike. It only has 12,500 miles on it and doesn't even have