New guy looking for

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Shmee, Oct 27, 2011.

1. Shmee

Shmee New Member

New guy looking for a VF1000R and some advice

OHey Gents, the name is Mitch and i hail from Vancouver Canada.
    i recently got my Motorcycle license after 14years of my dad hounding me so i could ride with him. He's big into Harley's but i've always had a thing for the older Japanese bikes most specifically the mid 80s Honda's. i'm on a ton of car forums so this is nothing new to me aside from the content.

Some basic details on me, i've been an Automotive tech for the past 10 years, worked for a professional race team running Porsches at the Daytona 24hr, modify damn near everything i can get my hands on and have built a multitude of extremely fast cars of all makes and models... amazingly enough, a bike is one thing i want to keep stock! *

I'm currently looking at a few bikes but most focused on getting my hands on an 84-86 VF1000R or a Canadian CB750 SC nighthawk, and being a Canadian, this works well for me as they are pretty easy to find up here.

I'm already on the nighthawk forum but figured I'd sign up here to do a little research on the VF's.

I'm looking at a few 1000s around me in the near future and was wondering if there is anything I should be looking at as areas of concern on these bikes. I'll be getting a PPI and history check done on any bikes that pass the initial screening but aside from general shape of the bike being a big factor in moving onto the PPI stage, what red flags should I be on the look out for?

Also, are the VF750 and VF1000 the same bike aside from the engine size? Just curious if a 750 would work as a parts bike as there is a non-running 750 really close to me for next to nothing!

Looking forward to posting more!

Cheers
    Mitch

Last edited: Oct 27, 2011
  2. Twitchy at times

Twitchy at times New Member

Map
    Howdy from Ottawa, Mitch.