Master Link Rivet - any tips?

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by rvmiller, Mar 11, 2016.

1. rvmiller

rvmiller New Member

United States
    Map
    I am replacing my sprockets and chain this weekend. I am a decent/ basic mechanic but I have never messed with the chain before other than to clean it.

Any tips on using the rivet tool?

I have watched some Youtube vids...

Sent from my C6522N using Tapatalk

2. H0ki3

H0ki3 New Member

United States
    Map
    which chain and which tool?

I know for my current chain I had to go to dealership because they had the Regina tool that I don't have. Cost me 1/2 hour of labor (2 guys for 15 mins). Service dept collectively all groaned when I came in with my regina link in hand ...I put the chain on with a clip style just to get to the dealership, but wanted the rivit type to be extra safe.... I guess they are a PITA and require 2 people . They did say the brand is great tho and will last forever :)

Ive done 100s of bicycle chains (was a bicycle mechanic) and the trick is to line it up and try to make sure there is minimal lateral force so you dont wallow out the plates or mess up the pin / tool. Make sure the tool pin is dead center on the chain pin and go slowly. Some chains come with spacers for the master link that you then remove, supposed to keep you from over tightening the plate and pinching the adjoining links.

3. FJ12rydertoo

FJ12rydertoo Member

United States
    Map
    The HSM lists the dimensions for the head of the rivet after riveting. It's not difficult, just take your time and measure frequently. If you go too far you could over swell the head of the rivet and cause cracks or a tight spot on the chain.

I've never done a Regina so I can't say what the difficulty could be.

4. NorcalBoy

NorcalBoy Member