Looked at a 1998 vfr have questions

Discussion in '5th Generation 1998-2001' started by rcvfr, Apr 20, 2006.

1. rcvfr

rcvfr New Member

Hello, I am new to the vfr but I have been riding for awhile. I looked at a 1998 800 vfr with 12,000 miles tonight and I have a few questions that I hope will be easy to answer.

1) When I rode the bike it made a whining noise. Is that sound normal? I know the bikes have gear driven cam are the gears making that sound?

2) I know the bikes have problems with the stator and the R/R but when I got back from riding the bike and it was idling in the garage I revved the bike and the head lights went off for a second and then came back on. It happened only twice. Is that a sign that the bike has a stator or R/R problem?

3) At idle the head lights would flicker is this normal or is this a sign that the stator or R/R is going bad?

4) One last thing the bike needs tires, a chain, and front and rear sprockets.
    The guy is asking 4000 for it. Is that a good price or should I keep looking.

Thanks for the help

2. jethro911

jethro911 Member

United States
    Map
    I'll see if I can help you,

1) When I rode the bike it made a whining noise. Is that sound normal? I know the bikes have gear driven cam are the gears making that sound?
    Yes this is the sweet sound of the cam gears that you can only get on a VFR.2)

I know the bikes have problems with the stator and the R/R but when I got back from riding the bike and it was idling in the garage I revved the bike and the head lights went off for a second and then came back on. It happened only twice. Is that a sign that the bike has a stator or R/R problem?