killed my first deer last month...

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by fieldsanitation, Mar 20, 2012.

1. fieldsanitation

fieldsanitation New Member

off the Dulles Toll Road, with the Trolls in NoVA
    Map
    Let me start by saying that I've been drooling over the VFR since the 80's. which dates me a little bit, but I don't care. I've been riding since 1990 and if I had the money when I was in the Marine Corps, I would have had a beautiful red VFR. But I didn't, so I settled for an 81 Nighthawk and made do. My most recent ride was a 2011 Yamaha FZ8. LOVE the naked bikes. Comfortable, great for twisties, can take some luggage and just go. I put over 7300 miles on that thing. bike was awesome....

I am currently recovering from T-boning a deer at 55 mph back in February. I was riding about 50 feet behind my buddy on his cruiser with really loud pipes, and I think he scared the deer. He never saw it... and I saw it right before it broke across the road and had enough time to let up on the gas and start to say "oh sh..." she must have been going 40 mph because she got around in front of me from out of nowhere, and I LOOK for deer down here in Texas.

ATGATT

I flipped/twisted/flew through the air and landed on my head and shoulders. Love my Shoei, love my leathers, love my life. I had scrapes on my forearms and knees. I had bruises EVERYWHERE, legs, butt, shoulders, ribs, hips, arms... spent over $1100 for a ride in an ambulance, and over $800 for an ER visit that included x-rays and a doc that spent less than 10 minutes in the room with me and wrote me a script for vicodin... THANK GOD I had $25,000 in medical coverage.... and I limped out of the ER with cracked/bruised ribs just after dark about 2 hours later. I will always always always wear leathers and a helmet and gloves.