Inept mechanic with standard electrical issues!

Discussion in '6th Generation 2002-2013' started by DadAgain, Apr 14, 2020.

1. DadAgain

DadAgain New Member

Australia
    Hi - I'm new in every sense of the word: New to my bike (VFR800 '02), new to trying to fix it, and new to this forum - so please be gentle with me!

I rode the bike nicely for a while after getting it a few months ago and then summer hit and it was waaaay too hot to ride so it sat in my garage taunting me for a while. When summer finally eased off a bit and I decided to attempt a ride I discovered a completely dead battery... I figured months of sitting there doing nothing and no trickle charger in play - it was silly of me not to expect it.

So I got a new battery and a charger and swapped it out taking care to put the permanent trickle charger leads on so I could leave it plugged in when necessary for a long period without battery draining. Once again I was on the road (hooray!!!)

But the joy was short lived and one evening my lights dimmed as I rode and eventually the bike just stopped with not even enough charge to fire a spark plug. I got towed home and figured I had a charging problem I needed to investigate.... Turns out this is a known "thing" on VFRs!

So a bit of reading and I wonder is my stator cooked or my Rectifier/regulator?... or both?
    I find something called "the drill" and decide I need to get cracking.....

Of course nowhere in the drill does it tell me where the components I need to test are on my bike and how I get to them - so it took me quite a while to work out that I need to get underneath the right side fairings....
    ...and then took me a considerable length for time to work out how to remove them! (Yep - this is *not* my comfortable space at all - but pandemic bits and pieces mean I have less money and more time on my hands than I would usually have - so this needs to be a bit of a project!)