HELP- I need input on a new VFR 800 or ???

Discussion in '8th Generation 2014-Present' started by bravastar1, Mar 6, 2015.

1. bravastar1

bravastar1 New Member

United States
    Map
    Thanks for the input-New VFR is Ordered

HI all, I am new to VFR's and this forum. I got back into bike's about 6 months ago after a 17 year break from riding. I had a son and life changed for all those years. My wife actually suggested I get another bike. I found a very clean one owner low mileage 2007 VFR 800. When I got it there were 10,200 miles on it. The owner had just put new tires on it and had the 8K service done A very good friend rode it and he too fell in love. He now wants to buy my bike. I have been looking around for a quality replacement and have not found the right bike yet. I have considered a BMW K1300S, Ninja 1000 and a few others. I happened into a local Honda dealer yesterday and found a 2014 VFR 800 DLX in white with 800 miles on it. I must say it is a beauty and is on consignment. They have what I think is a stupid price on the bike,$13,299. I have done quite a bit of looking on the net and have found several dealers that are selling NEW 2014 Standard VFR's for about $8900 including their dealer fees. It looks like these are not selling well as many dealers are heavily discounting the STD model and a pretty good discount on the DLX. it also looks like there is a $1500 rebate on these bikes that many dealers are giving to the customer in price reduction.

It appears to me that my 2007 and a 2014 are almost the same bike with a few upgrades but the same engine and same HP. I am really on the fence about selling mine only to upgrade to the same bike,just 7 years newer. I am a 60 year old guy that rides pretty sanely these days. Fast sweepers are still fun for me but gone are the days of canyon carving. I usually limit my day trips to about 250 miles and do not plan on any touring. I doubt if my wife will ever be on the back with me on any rides.