Hanging off the bike

Discussion in 'New Riders' started by michael, Mar 27, 2006.

1. michael

michael Administrator Staff Member

United States
    Map
    For those of you experienced enough to put a knee down in a full lean - how long did you ride before you started taking your butt off the seat? Any advice for someone just starting to hang off a little?

2. reg71

reg71 Poser Staff Member

United States
    Map
    Michael,

I've been riding for 28 yrs now and still haven't dragged my knees! Guess I'm a slow learner. I have scraped my toe a couple times since getting the vfr, but I'm only riding on the street. I probably would drag on the track or something.

3. brianereed

brianereed New Member

Go ahead, you'll like it when you try it. Getting off of the seat has enabled me to take turns at speeds I never would have before. It also allows more confidence when the turn begins to decrease in radius. There have been a couple of times when I am relaxed, just sitting upright around the turn, it gets tighter, and I got nervous. When I'm concentrating on the turn and hanging off and the turn gets tighter, I'm able to just lean more and suprise myself as to how tightly I was able to get to the inside of the curve.

Lots of practice is necessary, just like braking, etc. Make sure you can see around the bend! Don't take any unecessary chances. Just have some fun.

4. rc74racer

rc74racer New Member

I started out of necessisty when the peg feeler on my RC51 started scraping. Knee dragging is a track thing and too many riders get overly focused on how much they can hang off. Do a little at a time as needed but don't become obsessed with getting a knee down just be smooth and consistent and you'll be a better rider staying focused on that rather then how far you can get your ass off the seat.

5. RosscoB

RosscoB New Member

Do some track days and work up to it slowly. The track is the place to learn to hang of the bike in my opinion.

6. mello dude