FI light at 3000rpms

Discussion in '5th Generation 1998-2001' started by motd, Dec 27, 2020.

  1. motd

    motd New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hello everyone,
    Tonight when I went to take my 1999 out for a spin, I noticed the FI light fades on around 3k rpms, and stays, until it falls lower than 3k rpms. I get no error codes. Everything seems to be running normal. I have scoured the internet and seem to find what I think may be a lead and end up scratching my head. I plan to take her out for a 6 hour ride tomorrow and this is making me hesitant. Would be amazing if anyone has any answers.

    Thank you and much love
     
  2. motd

    motd New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    So I jumped the code after consulting with the service manual...
    I am getting a 1.3 second burst, followed by a blip, followed by a space, followed by 9 blips.
    I total this by the manual to be 20, which is faulty e2-prom in ecm, or 'does not hold self diagnosis data'

    If I take this as two codes, I have an 11 and a 9, being a handful of things. Is this two codes or one code?
     
  3. motd

    motd New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    OK it is actually a 1, a 9, and a 10
     
  4. RllwJoe

    RllwJoe Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Western Lower Peninsula, Michigan
    Map
    Code #1 is the MAP sensor. It is at the back right side of the air box, on the exterior and bottom half of the rear side of the air box. See page 5-14

    Code #9 is the IAT sensor. It is on the left hand bottom side the air box near the middle. Page 5-24

    Code #10 is the BARO senser. It is inside the sub frame above and slightly rear of the right passenger foot peg hanger.
    Page 5-26

    If you have pulled the air box off recently, you may have missed plugging the first two back into the harness. The third one may be loose also. Unplug/ replug them all and reset the self-diagnosis system by following the instructions on page 5-9.
     
  5. motd

    motd New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hey RilwJoe, sorry, I should have specified that I have the service manual and have looked at the codes. I have not taken the airbox off entirely yet but I know the previous owner did. Apparently the entire bike was in pieces and put mostly back together when I bought it. Swapped ECUs this AM. I took it back out this morning... and at first 3k rpms right on schedule... then 4... then 6k... and eventually it stopped showing. Put some new gas in. I rode for 30 min without a light. But I will keep looking for an answer. If there is a common thread among all of these, that would be useful to know. I looked at the MAP sensor plug late last night, and all is well. I will check out the other two sometime today.
     
  6. motd

    motd New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Went out, light came on again intermittently. Sometimes only at 50 or 30 % brightness, sometimes full, and never with the clutch pulled in. BARO sensor was fine, MAP sensor fine, never got to check out the other one. But found a ground wire I have had issues with before, it was attached to the sub frame between it and some plastics. I took it out and it had melted a bit of the plastics onto it. Took a wire brush to it, and found a better place for it on the main frame. Took it out for over a half hour with no problems. Will report back if it lights up again.
     
  7. RllwJoe

    RllwJoe Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Western Lower Peninsula, Michigan
    Map
    Bad grounds can do strange things.

    Did you reset the diagnostics yet?
     
  8. motd

    motd New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have not, how does one do that? Thank you for the help

    Edit: just found it :p will do
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2020
  9. raYzerman

    raYzerman Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    330
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
    I had some codes too once, MAP sensor and IAT. Checked MAP sensor and vacuum hose, all the connections, could not clear. Got a used MAP sensor, installed and cleared both codes. There is a second MAP sensor on the right side, which I guess is the BARO sensor since it has no vac hose and is open to atmosphere.
    I have a steady on FI light, swapping in another ECU didn't help, went through the list of items in the manual related to that, nothing wrong I can see, but I should go through it again. No degradation of performance in any way, although I do wish my fuel mileage was better.....
    Curious where you had a ground problem, my ground spider up front is fine, so is the ground on the right side frame.
     
  10. motd

    motd New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I may take all of the sensors that are crying off of my salvage/donor VFR and put it on this one for shits n giggles. I doubt it would solve anything because I don't buy that all 3 just suddenly all in unison failed. I will take a photo later today when I get back from a 500 mile ride of the ground wire. It is on the oil cap side, and it attached to the sub frame on the top bolt attaching the sub frame to the main frame, behind the plastics and in front of the frame. Only one of my bikes had it in this location so I believe either it is custom work (both bikes had either a mosfet and R1 r/r) or it was re-routed from elsewhere. There is a spot on the main frame just inches away that looks like it's made for it. The ground got melted plastic on both sides, and I had a battery not charging before because of this ground not having a good connection. Its about 4-5 wires that lead to 1 metal loop that is bolted to the frame.

    I TTTttthink I cleared the codes. I couldn't get it to blink 5 times (it was doing 20) however I no longer can get it to blink at all, and the manual says that no blinks and solid light = cleared codes. Im going to leave here in 1-2 hours for a long ride... I have allens, a 10mm, 12mm, some jumper cables and a portable battery pack/jumper box. She'll get me there I know she will.
     
  11. motd

    motd New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    [​IMG]

    This is on the oil cap side, subframe meets main frame. The wire was grounded with the lowest screw that holds the subframe fairing, screwing into one of the low subframe bolts that hold the subframe to the main frame. It had accumulated melted plastic on both sides. Used to come loose, caused battery not to charge. Then I added blue loctite to it. Then it melted some plastic and caused the FI light errors. Now I moved it over to where it looks to me it should go, guessing, and made it just under 600 miles today with not a single FI light. Previous it would show 3k+ rpms every time. Havent checked if there are still any codes waiting for me yet. She saw 140mph today with no problemo. No charging issues, no lights, nada. Made many stops and used an electric vest all day.
     
Related Topics

Share This Page