F4 vs 2002 VFR

Discussion in '6th Generation 2002-2013' started by speedster, Feb 25, 2003.

1. speedster

speedster New Member

I have a 2000 F4 which is plenty fast enough, but I am thinking about getting a VFR. I've been riding for about 6 months but I'm looking for something more sophisticated.

How will they be different?

2. Jake

Jake New Member

I went from an F3 to a 98 Interceptor and here's the big things I noticed:

VFR feels heavier when moving slowly (parking lot, etc.) but once underway, the difference is negligable until you start pushing hard in the corners.

VFR is much more comfortable for rides of any duration.

VFR gets better mileage and has greater range (usually 200+miles).

VFR has more midrange torque. An F4 could probably take a VFR in a drag race if the person on the F4 didn't miss any shifts, but my '98 VFR feels quicker (and I think the specs bear this out) than my '95 F3 felt.

VFR less wheelie-prone. You can do them, but you have to want to. Power wheelies in first gear are about the same, never had either my F3 or my VFR do a power wheelie in second. (I hear they're pretty common on an F4 though...)

If you're squid, take note: Stoppies are much more difficult on the VFR (but still possible).

HTH,
    Jake

3. RedRte1

RedRte1 New Member