bike sat for 5 years

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by taylor65, Nov 1, 2012.

1. taylor65

taylor65 New Member

Map
    I work on bikes as a way to make a little extra money and my latest one is a 1993 zx11 that has been sitting in a garage for five years without any protective measures taken at all. The sad part is it is a very clean bike never been crashed and everything is there. I'm a pretty decent mechanic so I know the majority of what needs to be done. But I am wondering after so long is there anything I should do motor wise. Such as for the valves, pistons rings or cylinders. Maybe flush the motor with something or??? Just seems after so long in one position the rings may have rusted or the valves could be stuck? I don't know. So I'm asking someone who may have more experience than I if I shouldn't do something for it before I turn it over for the first time. And oh yeah the carbs are ugly. The gas that came out of the tank smelled more like varnish than it did gas. Thanks for any advice in advance.

2. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again Member

United States
    Pull the spark plugs out and spray some lubricating oil such as Marvel Mystery Oil into the holes and let it sit overnight before turning the engine over.

Rollin

3. Arnzinator

Arnzinator New Member

United States
    Map
    +1 to Rollin. You may want to try and turn it over by hand if possible following Rollin's suggestion. Might be a good idea to remove the valve cover & take peak inside. if you do a little oil on the cams wouldn't hurt.

4. taylor65

taylor65 New Member

Map
    Thanks. Those are great ideas. I forgot all about the cams etc.. drying out. The mufflers are full of dirt and dead bugs so I'm thinking of pulling the whole exhaust to make sure it's cleaned out as well. I'm not sure how far they have gone. Or do you think it would blow out on its own? Thanks again for the advice

5. jethro911

jethro911 Member

United States
    Map
    Ok brace yerselves!!!