"Best" year to own

Discussion in 'General VFR Discussions' started by Cakedaddy, Apr 20, 2022.

1. Cakedaddy

Cakedaddy New Member

United States
    Just bought an '83 interceptor, because since the late '80's, the early/mid 80's were the ones I liked the most. Never owned one (or any other year), but when the itch came again, I went back to those years.

Now that I have it, I'm seeing how. . . 'difficult' it might be to keep up. From the dreaded cam wear (that I'm just learning about), to simply lack of parts available. Not regretting my purchase AT ALL. But, I am afraid of riding it! If something goes. . .that might be it for the bike! So, I feel like I have to save it for special occasions.

So that leads to my question. What year is: Easy to maintain, has good parts available, has a good durability reputation, etc. What's the best/easiest year to own? Looking for one that I don't have to feel guilty about putting miles on and wearing things out.

2. bk94si

bk94si Member

United States
    I asked this same question before I got my 97.i was told 4th Gen 94-97 were the best. I think an argument can be made for the 5th gen as well for the fuel injection.

3. Grum

Grum New Member

Australia
    Well that depends on a many things, and personal preferences. But I will say that the 8gen which came out in 2014 will prove to be the most reliable VFR ever built, thats because ALL of the electrical gremlins that have plagued previous models have been solved. Also being the last of VFR's parts availability should be most easily accessible.

If you like the whine of gear driven cams and no CCT's to worry about , and non VTEC (four Valve ops all the time) and with EFI the 5th gen is a GREAT bike once the electrical issues are sorted.

There's also the 7th gen VFR1200 which came out in 2010 if you want the extra grunt, shaft drive, superb build quality.

There are many other details of each generation to consider but this is just my very short 2 cents worth.