ABS v. No ABS

Discussion in 'New Riders' started by B.Craig, Oct 17, 2008.

1. B.Craig

B.Craig New Member

Map
    Hello all. I've been reading your posts for a few weeks but this is my first time contributing. I have my eye on a 2007 VFR Anniversary Edition. Luckily, two dealerships near me have never been ridden versions of this bike sitting on their floors right now. The only difference, one has ABS, the other does not. For a newer rider, what are your thoughts on whether the ABS version is worth the extra expense. Thanks for the feedback, and I look forward to soon being a new and proud owner of a Honda VFR.

2. jasonsmith

jasonsmith Member

Canada
    Map
    Welcome and congrats at choosing such a awesome ride. This topic has been discussed many times with many different opinions of view coming to light. I will tell you the following...

The ABS system adds 11lbs to the bike.
    The ABS bike comes with a hydraulic pre-load adjuster vs the wrench.
    The ABS bike has different color brake calipers.
    The ABS bike has less space under the cowls where you may want to put stuff.
    The ABS bike adds about $1000 to the tag.

The ABS system is the smoothest and one of the most transparent systems I have ever seen and would not without a doubt hazard to say it's one of the best bike systems out there.

Not sure if you can tell by my tone, I love mine and I bought an ABS on purpose. For me the extra peace of mind is gold.

Hope that helps...

3. julianivfr

julianivfr New Member

Canada
    Map
    I'm in full support. It only has to work once for you to be worth the extra expense. I bought mine as a newbie too, so you'll be in good company.

My recommendation is that if you can, get ABS.

4. Action

Action New Member

United States
    Map
    +1 to what Jason and Julianivfr said. It adds value to the bike and could save your butt.

Action

5. B.Craig

B.Craig New Member

Map