98 VFR 5th Gen - Stored for 12 yrs - Need some advice

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by Ken72, Apr 14, 2021.

1. Ken72

Ken72 New Member

United States
    Hi all,
    so recently my neighbor put it in my head to start riding again. So I pull out the VFR with 61k miles. She wasn't prepped properly for long term storage - I had a lot going on back then...&...oh well...

I'm not a mechanic, just a tinkerer, but I did manage to get her started, and she starts right up...after the following work: new battery, replaced regulator/rectifier, replaced thermostat, professionally cleaned the injectors, new spark plugs, changed oil & filter, removed rust from gas tank interior, replaced fuel pump/filter assembly. Needless to say, it wasn't cheap.

As I stated, she starts right up. However, she blows white smoke after warmed up and the exhaust has a small oil leak dripping from the muffler. So, I guess I'm just asking you guys how much more trouble am I getting myself into if I continue? Maybe just part out the bike and recoup? Any advice would be appreciated.

2. squirrelman

squirrelman Member

United States
    Map
    some white vapor from the exhaust is normal on a long-stored bike, but it should disappear by the time engine reaches operating temp. exhaust has a small hole to dump rainwater and condensation.

check that oil doesn't have a milky white appearance. maybe do a compression test ?

Last edited: Apr 14, 2021
  3. Diving Pete

Diving Pete Member

United Kingdom
    Map
    Is it blowing white smoke after warm up?

As in can you take it for at least a 30minute ride - no stopping & at all speeds?
    You really will need the whole bike to get good and warm so as to be able to burn off any moisture & condensation.

Last edited: Apr 15, 2021
    mello dude likes this.
  4. FJ12rydertoo

FJ12rydertoo Member

United States
    Map
    What you see as an oil leak from the exhaust may be condensation dripping out, but it looks like oil