93 VFR750: No spark

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by OSA 06, Jun 17, 2011.

1. OSA 06

OSA 06 New Member

United States
    Map
    I'm new to the bike scene, but have been turning wrenches professionally for more than 10 years. This bike was wrecked, and a rebuild started by the previous owner, before I bought it. I had the bike running after I installed a radiator and it was only running on 3 cylinders due to the carbs being varnished. That was the last time I was able to get it running, finding that I had no spark. Since then, I've checked all the ignition components, switches, etc and have installed a new wiring harness because the old one had been butchered and bought a used CDI. Same problem still persist. I have read alot of threads on this same problem, and the threads fall out without a repair being posted. Anyone who has anything that may help, I'm all ears!! So ready to be riding... Thanks All !!!!

2. rogersj3

rogersj3 New Member

United States
    Map
    Clean the carbs and do a bench synch. Then clean them again. One more time. They may actually be clean at this point. New plugs? Check. Battery fully charged? Check. Idle adjustment screws turned to 2 1/2 turns out? Check. Fuel tank has good fuel in it, petcock "clicks" into the open position, no fuel lines kinked, fuel pumped tested good? Check. All fuses in good working order? Check.

You've introduced a crapton of variables with the new harness and CDI (plus whatever else was done that you aren't aware of). If the above triple checks don't get you going (that's what it took for my '91), it'll be time to bust out the multimeter.

3. OSA 06

OSA 06 New Member

United States
    Map